A Past Life in Ireland

Discussion in 'Past Life Memories' started by bluegreen, Jul 8, 2008.

1. bluegreen

bluegreen Registered

Hi There!

This is a long one but I want to give some background. Many years ago I had lived in the States. I finished High school in the west. I studied british history in my last year there. It was a high honors class. I don't even remember how I got into that class as I wasn't particularly a brillant student. It covered early to late British History. It was taught by a good teacher and I liked it. Queens and Kings..and all that jazz.

I used to love reading the textbook. Something caught my eye and it totally took possession of my mind. It had a very short chapter regarding the fight between Ireland and Great Britain concerning Ireland's right to independence.

It triggered something inside me and I felt that I had to go visit Ireland. Yearning...whatever. I don't remember what I felt but I had to find a way to get there.

I studied a travel column that was published in the local newspaper every week. I found an article that talked about how you can join an organization and stay with a host family in a foreign country. I found one for Ireland. Next... since I had no money...I worked three jobs and I managed to scrape up the money to travel there in a short time.

To make a long story short...I have traveled there twice.
    I am Greek..South American descent. I have no conscious connection with anything Irish. I became obsessed with traditional Irish music. Hearing Gaelic for the first time was like music to my ears. I brought back tapes of Clannard and whatnot before anyone ever heard of them in the States.

First Impressions...I clearly remembered when I first walked in Dublin. I was crossing a bridge and I said to myself. I have been here..I know this bridge...this is so familiar to me.

During a fun drinking night ...I got up and danced wildly to Irish music. Everyone was taken back by my passion. Ha!