How can one achieve selflessness?

Discussion in 'Reincarnation, Religion and Spirituality' started by Syd, Jan 26, 2021.

1. Syd

Syd Who am I?

Hello to all.
    I am curious to see how others are able to pass day by day and not take things personal, not get mad and angry with others in these times.
    I am fairly new to practice the spiritual thinking: 10 years or so. But I always had so much compassion for everyone, always put others before me, trying to help if I can. However there are situations and even persons that make my blood boil...
    I was reading Osho and Thorwald Dethlefsen, which gave me a lot of info about the fact that there's more to life than coping with others and living through life meaningless.
    I figure that my basic problem is that I'm selfish. I take things personal, and I'm so deep asleep that I can't help myself. The worst is that even with all that knowledge (which seems nothing compared to what I have been reading here on the forums) I feel so alone. Each time I'm talking about spirituality and different ways of living and seeing things, others are looking funny at me or changing subject.
    Am I suppose to stop caring about other people's opinion and put myself first or put everyone before me and be a slave?
    Maybe seeing a psychologist will help?

Please don't hesitate to give your opinion, I really appreciate any kind of advice.

Sincerely S.V.

2. There and back again

There and back again Senior Member

I've seen this come up A Lot with those who get into the new age movement only to wash out of a abusive cult. The whole ego death is just really about softening people up so they can be programmed to not feel much nor think for themselves while being brainwashed by some guru ect.

fireflydancing likes this.
  3. Syd

Syd Who am I?