Irish Monastery Monk/Abbot, eleventh century

Discussion in 'Member's Memories - Archive' started by LeoCairo, Aug 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LeoCairo

LeoCairo New Member

Background
    Last year, I turned 30 and around the same time, I started to feel an inexplicable pull towards exploring my spirituality. I am not a religious person, and would not even particularly describe myself as spiritual. Philosophical? Yes. Spiritual? A little. Religious? No.

I work in the field of marine biology, and my beliefs about the world tend to be rooted in science.
    So, while the journey of the past year unnerves me, my mind, as always, tends to view it as a question that needs to be answered, a curious conundrum, an unknowable something that must be rooted somewhere, somehow in the universal laws that no one with a straight face could claim to completely understand.

This post and discussion is continued in the thread Please help. I'm confused and a little scared.

2. LeoCairo

LeoCairo New Member

The past year

I started looking into genealogy, and when I did, I reached about as far back at 800AD, which I thought was pretty good for purely internet-based research.

The name of one individual (a very distant relative) who lived in Ireland in the 11th century popped out to me immediately. It was as though his name leapt off the page and I felt so strangely connected to it - quite honestly, as soon as I saw the name, the thought that popped into my head was, “Yes! That’s it!” What “it” was, I’m not totally sure.