• Thank you to Carol and Steve Bowman, the forum owners, for our new upgrade!

How do you find research success of ordinary people?

Laughables

Senior Registered
That is, people who were not well-known or notable in any way - just average people living their lives?

I am trying to research the life that I believe I had prior to this one. Through meditation and the guidance of an intuitive, what I know is that my name was Rachel and I worked as a domestic servant for a wealthy Philadelphia family around the turn of the century. There was a tragedy involving one of the children in my care, in the year 1908, for which I was blamed although it technically wasn't my fault. I was fired from the household and believe found work as a seamstress.

I have poured over archived newspapers, trying to find any mention of the tragedy with the child. I have also gone through census records, tried to research wealthy families in Philadelphia at that time, and reached what feels like the end of the Internet, all without any success. I can't seem to find any record or validation that this person ever existed, or the family.

How can I proceed from here? How have you done research into unknown lives? Is there a point where research becomes futile and you simply accept who you were, without validation?

Any and all help is appreciated. :)

Laughables said:
How can I proceed from here? How have you done research into unknown lives?
I have done historic research tracking ordinary people through history, and I have known many historians and genealogists who have done the same. It is very common, and is a very interesting but time consuming occupation.