• Thank you to Carol and Steve Bowman, the forum owners, for our new upgrade!

American Civil War PL Notes and Memories....

Eva1942

A Walking Enigma...
Recently, I watched for the second time the movie ‘Gettysburg’. I was a Confederate soldier from either Virginia or North Carolina. I made some notes during the film, and thought they would be of interest to others who had American Civil War PL’s around the Battle of Gettysburg.

These are very rough notes. Because I wrote them so briefly, even re reading them, I wonder what it was I was trying to record with some of them o_O

Gettysburg film..

- Fireworks. During the battle, firework artillery were used. In this lifetime I don’t like fireworks. Could stem from this or perhaps another time.

- Horses. Cavalry.

- General Pickett was from Northern Virginia. His photograph at the beginning seemed to do something for me.

- Short handlebars moustache. It’s how I saw myself in that after war memory. Long face, short handlebars moustache and weary looking.

- Cemetery Ridge. Why is it “familiar”? (am I confusing it with Semitary Ridge, the HQ of the Confederates? (Further research shows I was indeed getting them both confused).

- Still consider Union Army of the Potomac the ‘enemy’ and those ‘Yankees’.

- I “feel” that I wasn’t an officer. That the light blue coats were reserved for officers only. The coat I saw in my memory was dark like a brown colour. Could it have been one I picked up from somewhere? But then again they are familiar.

- Morning of the second day (of battle). I feel very nostalgic and like I was ready for anything.

- I “feel” as if perhaps I was from the south. Something about the battlecries of North Virginia etc make me feel proud.

- At the start of the second day, Pickett was still as the movie mentioned a ‘ full days march’ frim Gettysburg.

- Bayonets and cowboy hats. In Australia they are called an akubra. I’d rather wear nothing than one of those.